Family Life · Holidays · Home Decor · Valentine's Day

Love is in the air…

Love is in the air and Valentine’s Day is quickly approaching!!

I love and fully embrace all that is the commercial holiday of Valentine’s Day without shame and here’s why; winter in Upstate NY can drag on for a seemingly endless duration. I quickly tire of all the slush, grey skies, freezing temps, and gloom. Once the first few snows and excitement over a white Christmas are gone I’m ready to move on towards sunshine and cheer, and it can be tough to do that amidst the blah backdrop of mid-winter. So I create my own sunshine by shamelessly celebrating every random holiday with abandon including Valentine’s Day. National chocolate day? Check! National popcorn day? Check! I think you get the idea…

This year the Target dollar spot made decorating for Valentine’s Day pretty easy. It was full to bursting of all things pink, glitter, hearts, flowers, and love galore. Plus I’m a sucker for all things Target if we’re being honest.

I used gel window clings from Target to decorate the three front windows and the bedroom window. I placed a felt banner on the wall above our table hung from decorate command hooks. I then used a few items I had on hand and what I picked up at the dollar spot to sprinkle some Valentine’s Day love and cheer throughout the rest of our home.

dsc_0715

I placed two felt pennants in a mason jar on one window sill.

dsc_0716
In our second window sill I made a vignette using a wooden letter painted gold, some mason jar candles I made for Mother’s day last year, an old soda bottle, and some dried cotton stems that my husband gifted me for our second (cotton) anniversary!
dsc_0724
In our third window sill I place this gold metal “love” script from target in my mini radio flyer wagon.
dsc_0739
On our dresser I simply placed this cute wooden sign from TJ Maxx next to a photograph of our fur baby.
dsc_0740
On our dining table (that’s more or less been turned in to a console table) I used a basket to corral all the books/paper/etc, placed a red and white ticking stripe runner across it, and created a simple display of felt mailboxes and felt roses in a vintage red soda bottle.
img_2535
On our china cabinet I used a small crate to corral red & pink glassware filled with fun paper straws and drink stirrers (and dog treats…so many dog treats).
img_2536
On our kitchen countertops I used this adorable red mini cake stand (I ❤ cake stands) to display these cute letter blocks. I’ve been switching out the message on them periodically. I also placed a small wooden cutting board with a heart on it nearby for use as a trivet.
img_2537
Lastly, I strung up som red & white string and used these adorable Valentine’s Day clothespins from target to hang photos of loved ones, quotes, and wedding pictures. I also switched out some of the artwork/photographs throughout our home with quotes about love and Valentine’s Day art prints.

 

So there you have it – my beat the winter blues Valentine’s Day decor!

XOXO,

Cait

Leave a Reply

