Baking · Dogs · Family Life · Friday Favorites

Puppy Love & Pupcakes <3

I’ll be continuing the theme of love for the month of February and posting about another one of my favorites as today is Friday; my puppy and making special treats for her!

This past August my husband and I adopted a purebred German Shepherd puppy from Jeff Manning (http://www.manningsbestfriend.com/), and it’s been a pretty wonderful experience overall. It has certainly had its bumps and has not been easy, but our Mia is pretty well-behaved for a puppy! She’s such a cuddle bug and we love her dearly.

cait-7
Our 6 month old Mia!

Today in honor of her 1/2 birthday which we celebrated yesterday I’m sharing the recipe for the pupcakes I baked her up as a treat.

I based it off a couple of recipes I found online; omitting the ingredients I didn’t have on hand and increasing quantities of things that I did have by a small amount. I’m notoriously bad for not measuring exactly when baking treats for my pup. I tend to approximate!

Ingredients:

  • 1 heaping cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • A good-sized scoop of  peanut butter (xylitol free)
  • 1  individual serving cup of unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/3 can pumpkin puree
  • 1 egg

Directions:

  1. Pour all ingredients into a mixing bowl and mix until combined.
  2. Scoop out portions into a greased cupcake pan.
  3. Place in preheated 350 degree oven.
  4. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until toothpick inserted in the center of a cupcake comes out clean.
  5. Let cool before frosting/eating

**I just “frosted” with more peanut butter as our Mia adores peanut butter!

img_3184-1
The pupcakes before baking!
img_3195
A “frosted” & decorated pupcake.

XOXO,

Cait

Leave a Reply

