Book Club · Cooking · Event Planning · Family Life · Parties · Recipes

Southern Bookclub Coleslaw

Good Morning and happy Wednesday! I don’t know about you, but for me this week is just dragging by at a snail’s pace! To break up that monotony I thought I’d share my southern book club coleslaw recipe adapted from a couple of different ones that I found online. I’m not the best at measuring ingredients, especially for savory items, but I did my best to approximate.

Ingredients:

  • 2 bags shredded coleslaw mix
  • 1/2 small jar miracle whip (approx 1 cup)
  • 1 tbsp + 1 tsp distilled white vinegar
  • 1/4 cup granulated white sugar
  • pinch of salt (approx 1/4 tsp)
  • pinch mustard powder (approx 1/4 tsp)

Instructions:

IMG_3706
1) Gather all ingredients, large mixing bowl, spoon or spatula.
IMG_3707
2) Add miracle whip, vinegar, sugar, salt, mustard powder to bowl.
IMG_3708-1
3) Stir until combined.
IMG_3731
4) Add coleslaw mix to sauce and stir to coat.

This recipe is best made a few hours to one day in advance of when you plan to eat it so that the flavors have time to meld. Store covered in the refrigerator for 3-4 days. As with any potluck type item please don’t let it sit out too long on a buffet without being set in a bowl of ice; trust me on this one.

XOXO,

Cait

Leave a Reply

