CNY Maple Festival · Finger Lakes · Friday Favorites · Maple Festival · Marathon Maple Festival · Marthon NY · Traditions

Marvelous Maple

Top of the morning to ya! I’m so thankful today is Friday. This week has just dragged by and I haven’t been sleeping well because I haven’t been feeling super great which doesn’t help!

For today’s “Friday Favorites” I thought I’d share one of my favorite events: the CNY Maple Festival. Now I know it’s a little unfair to share about the event after it’s already happened this year, but stay with me! The festival is held on the first weekend of April, both Saturday and Sunday, each year over in Marathon, NY. My sister and I have gone for the past three years and it has become a tradition for us.

The festival celebrates the maple sugaring season and all things maple. There are demonstrations of how maple syrup is made, information about the entire maple syrup making process from tree to bottle, tours of local sugar shacks, craft vendors, a book sale, a kiddie carnival, a pancake eating contest, a pancake breakfast, a maple princess competition, tons of musical & entertainment acts, a chicken BBQ, and so much more. Every maple product and treat you could ever want are available for purchase from maple cotton candy, to maple creme, to maple BBQ sauce!

The festival is held in different buildings around town and some of it is outside. Because it’s April in Upstate NY, and the weather is unpredictable, I suggest you wear layers and check the weather before you go. Parking is easily found on side streets and in free lots, and there are specific handicapped lots available closer to the activities. For more information visit the festival website here.

It is such a special treat to be able to go to the festival and enjoy all things maple with my sister each year. I start looking forward to the day months in advance! It always a delight no matter how the weather turns out to be. So my advice to you is that you write this one down on your calender for next year; you won’t want to miss it!!

 

 

XOXO,

Cait

One thought on “Marvelous Maple

Leave a Reply

