Baking · CNY Maple Festival · Easter · Family Life · Finger Lakes · Holidays · Maple Festival · Marathon Maple Festival · Recipes

It’s (Easter) Cookie Time!

Happy Monday and welcome to a new week y’all!

To start the week off right I figured I quickly share the Easter sugar cookies that I baked up over the weekend. I use my mom’s sugar cookie recipe which you can find back in this blog post. It’s a lightly sweet, soft-baked, roll out sugar cookie that is perfect for frosting and decorating.

Using the ingredients and directions located in that previous blog post I made up the dough, chilled it, rolled it out on a lightly floured surface, and cut it in to Easter bunny, carrot, and maple leaf shapes using the cookie cutters that I have on hand already. The maple leaf cutter was purchased at the CNY Maple Festival which you can read about here. The Easter bunny and carrot cutters were purchased at Walmart last year in their Easter section.

After the cookies were baked and cooled I decorated them using the frosting recipe from my mom that was also included in this blog post. I kept the frosting white for the bunnies, and used food coloring to make a small bowl orange and a small bowl green for the carrots.

I decided that in honor of the CNY Maple festival that we had attended last weekend I wanted to do something a little different for the maple leaf-shaped cookies. I settled on making a maple frosting to top those ones so that they’d be a little bit different and special. I took the regular frosting recipe, before it was colored so about half of it, and added four tablespoons of pure maple syrup. I added the syrup one tablespoon at a time to make sure it was fully incorporated without making the frosting too runny. I ended up with a tan-colored frosting that was slightly thinner than usual and had a lightly maple flavor without being overpowering. I could have probably gotten away with one more tablespoon to make the maple flavor stronger but I was happy with four! I wanted to use pure maple syrup as opposed to maple extract both because I have a lot of homemade maple syrup on hand and because I’d rather use the real thing than an artificial flavoring when possible.

Hope y’all have a marvelous Monday!

 

XOXO,

Cait

Leave a Reply

