Finger Lakes · Friday Favorites · Shop Local · Shopping · Stores

Finger Lakes Favorites

I don’t know about you but I am so glad that today is Friday and that we are just hours away from the weekend! I’m looking forward to getting out and about enjoying all that the area has to offer, and maybe working on a project or two. Do you have any fun weekend plans?! If not, I bet I can give you a couple of ideas with this week’s version of “Friday Favorites”; my Finger Lakes favorites!

Lets start off with my two favorite local shops; Marmalade Mercantile and East Hill Antiques.

Marmalade Mercantile offers vintage finds, farmhouse decor, and all sorts of other goodies. They have a brick and mortar shop at 414 N Meadow St Ithaca NY or you can shop their online website 24/7 here . The owners always stock the most amazing products with attractive packaging (I’m a sucker for packaging) that you can’t find anywhere else in the area, and they are ace at displaying them in creative ways that get your inner decorator wheels turning. Whenever I need a unique gift I make sure to stop here because I can always find something the receiver will love. Whether it’s for a birthday, anniversary, get well soon, or hostess gift I never leave empty-handed, and I typically end up heading home with a couple of items for myself as well! I’m in love with pretty much everything in the store so my hubs knows he’s safe purchasing anything from this store to gift to me; cast iron bee napkin rings with matching bee print linens? Sign me up! Quirky cowgirl tablecloths? I’m down for that! Paraffin free candles in a milk bottle? I’ll take one in every scent please! Aged wooden signs and cotton wreaths that look fabulous layered over each other? Absolutely! I could go on all day like this!

IMG_3521

IMG_3522
Not the greatest picture BUT do you see that darling red chippy tricycle with the feed sacks? In love.
IMG_3523
Vintage sink, amazing tea towels, metal dish rack?! Don’t mind if I do. Also cotton wreaths are my love language.

 

IMG_3525
Cotton stems, wooden signs, beautiful artificial florals, and a hen statue? Can I just take it all home?

East Hill Antiques is a treasure trove of pretty much every antique and vintage item you’d hope to find; artwork, dishes, toys, clothing, home goods, crafting supplies, and more. They’re located in the East Hill Plaza at 335A Pine Tree Rd Ithaca NY. While they don’t have a website or online shopping option you can check out their Facebook page here to see items that have been recently brought in to the shop here. I’m always amazed at the selection, and the pricing is hard to beat. I’ve been to many antique/vintage shops in the area and find most of them to be stuffy and have items priced very highly. This shop is different. The owner and every employee that I’ve met has been friendly and engaging. Fresh stock is brought in on a consistent basis so there is always a new gem or two to take home with you. I’m partial to the selection of vintage paint-by-numbers and anything typography/letter related. I’ve also been eyeing the selection of vintage wooden spools for a couple of crafting projects I saw in last month’s Country Living magazine. Maybe that will be next on my project list?

IMG_3534

IMG_3533
Come prepared to hunt high and low for treasures. You never know where your next “can’t live without it” item will be!
IMG_3532
This section of “smalls”, vintage postcards & flash cards, and crafting supplies is one of my favorites.

To wrap things up let’s talk about one of my favorite local eateries; Doug’s Fish Fry. There are two different brick and mortar locations in Upstate NY; Cortland and Skaneateles. I frequent the Cortland location at 3638 West Rd, but I’ve been to both and they’re amazing whichever location you stop in to. Doug’s also offers their fare through “Doug’s To Go” food truck fundraisers held at different locations around the area. For a calendar of those events click here. I’ve had a lot of different menu items from lobster rolls to fish fry but my absolute favorite is a hot dog with baked beans. I know that it probably sounds silly to order a hot dog from a seafood restaurant but it’s so good; trust me on this. And the baked beans?! Oh my goodness y’all they’re out of this world good; a bowl full of stick to your ribs, rich amber-colored deliciousness that will thaw you out on the coldest Upstate day! Also, don’t miss out on their hand-packed milkshakes made from hard ice cream. A chocolate malted is my go to!

IMG_3531
One of my favorite meals.
FullSizeRender
Fish fry and french fries = a winning combo for the hubs.

So there you have it; a couple of my Finger Lakes favorites! Hope it gives you some inspiration on what to do this weekend or what to add to your (already) packed schedule! I know I’m just itching for some Doug’s Fish Fry and a few quick stops into Marmalade Mercantile and East Hill Antiques… I just hope my husband doesn’t mind!!

IMG_3545
Finds from our last trip to Marmalade Mercantile and East Hill Antiques.
FullSizeRender-1
The most recent addition to my PBN collection.

XOXO,

Cait

**This post was in no way sponsored or endorsed by Marmalade Mercantile, East Hill Antiques, or Doug’s Fish Fry. All opinions and viewpoints stated in this blog post are solely my own. I just love these establishments and want to share them with y’all!**

Leave a Reply

