Family Life · Friday Favorites · Infertility · Motherhood · Mothers Day · National Infertility Awareness Week · Trials

Friday Favorites – NIAW Style

Hip hip hooray! It’s finally Friday!

Today for Friday Favorites I wanted to do something a little bit different in honor of National Infertility Awareness Week. I wanted to focus on some of my favorite infertility related items, websites/resources, etc. So without further ado:

My favorite scriptures that provide a lot of comfort when I’m feeling down about my infertility:

  • Psalm 113:9

He gives the childless woman a family, making her a happy mother. Praise the LORD!

  • Deuteronomy 7:14

You shall be blessed above all peoples; there shall not be a male or female barren among you or among your livestock.

  • Matthew 6:26-27

Look at the birds of the air, for they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they?

27 Which of you by worrying can add one cubit to his stature?

My favorite non-scripture books to find comfort in:

I love reading my scriptures when I’m having a rough time, but sometimes I’m too upset to focus on the words or understand the language. When that happens I turn to the following two books:

  1. More Than The Tattooed Mormon by Al Carraway which isn’t about infertility, but offers a lot of wisdom on prayer, faith, and trusting God. It’s also nice to know that I’m not the only one who gets angry and yells at him.
  2. Savor: Living Abundantly Where You Are, As You Are by Shauna Niequist. A lovely year-long devotional that covers so many topics including a few days on infertility.

My favorite infertility related gift that I’ve received:

A hand-knit prayer shawl made by one of my mother’s friends, and gifted to me shortly after I was diagnosed with infertility. Each color in the shawl is representative of a trait or attribute like strength, comfort, healing, etc.

My favorite way to spend Mother’s Day:

Sleeping in, eating comfort foods, and going out target shooting & shopping for antiques. Anything that soothes my soul.

My favorite distractions when I’m having a rough day:

Shopping, working on word searches, painting my nails, and yoga. It’s hard to truly focus on your grief when your balancing in a yoga pose, trying to paint your nails without getting polish all over, and finding elusive words in a word search. And who can debate a little retail therapy?

My favorite infertility related song:

So Hard – Dixie Chicks

I’ve loved that song for years; ever since I first heard it. It’s one of the few songs that directly discusses infertility and the pain that accompanies it.

My favorite infertility resource:

Resolve: The National Infertility Association. A great place to find helpful articles about infertility, local infertility related events, and support groups.

My favorite infertility related blogs and blog posts:

Sometimes It Hurts To Be Mormon

In Due Time

Hope Beyond Hope

Hope you have a great weekend!

XOXO,

Cait

Leave a Reply

