Family Life · General Conference · Infertility · Testimony · Testimony Tuesday · Trials

Testimony Tuesday – Happiness, Your Heritage

Lately I’ve been feeling a little bit stuck.

Growing up I had this vision of what my life would look like at each stage of adulthood. I pictured finishing school, getting married, and starting a family relatively quickly. The main career goal that I had growing up was to be a stay at home mom; I valued and desired that above most else. I loved children, and felt that I would be well suited for a large family of maybe four or five of them. Fast forward to 2017; I’ve completed my education, have a stable job, have been married to the most incredible man for 2 and a half years, and…no babies. Not only no babies right now, but none in sight in the near or foreseeable future. Talk about a swift kick in the gut.

It’s left me questioning my purpose and my God. Why not me Lord? Why not now or soon? Why must I wait when so many others do not or do not have to. What am I here for if not this, if not the righteous desire of my heart?

And today God answered with this; a talk by President Dieter F. Uchtdorf titled Happiness, Your Heritage that was given at a women’s conference in October of 2008. The first sentence of the talk states this; “Our birthright—and the purpose of our great voyage on this earth—is to seek and experience eternal happiness”. When he states this he is reiterating a scripture from 2 Nephi Chapter 2 Verse 25; “men are that they might have joy”. If that isn’t an answer from God about what my purpose here is then I don’t know what is.

He goes on to say:

“To me it appears that our splendid sisters sometimes undervalue their abilities—they focus on what is lacking or imperfect rather than what has been accomplished and who they really are…We know that sometimes it can be difficult to keep our heads above water. In fact, in our world of change, challenges, and checklists, sometimes it can seem nearly impossible to avoid feeling overwhelmed by emotions of suffering and sorrow.

I am not suggesting that we can simply flip a switch and stop the negative feelings that distress us. This isn’t a pep talk or an attempt to encourage those sinking in quicksand to imagine instead they are relaxing on a beach. I recognize that in all of our lives there are real concerns. I know there are hearts here today that harbor deep sorrows. Others wrestle with fears that trouble the soul. For some, loneliness is their secret trial.

These things are not insignificant.

However, I would like to speak about two principles that may help you find a path to peace, hope, and joy—even during times of trial and distress. I want to speak about God’s happiness and how each one of us can taste of it in spite of the burdens that beset us”.

Those two principles are creation and compassion.

Today, within this blog post, I would like to focus on one of those principles; creation. The Merriam-Webster dictionary defines creation as the act or process of bringing something into existence. President Uchtdorf shares that “the desire to create is one of the deepest yearnings of the human soul. No matter our talents, education, backgrounds, or abilities, we each have an inherent wish to create something that did not exist before…creation brings deep satisfaction and fulfillment”.

So my loves, that will be my focus this week. I will focus on creating in order to be able to taste God’s happiness, because I have a testimony that my loving Heavenly Father created me to be happy and to have eternal happiness; that is my purpose. I may not be able to create the one thing I long for, children, but I can create so much else that is good. I will strive to create in ways that bring joy to others, and that allow me to further my talents. It is my hope that through doing so I can become “unstuck” and that, per President Uchtdorf, the more I trust and rely upon the Spirit, the greater my capacity to create will be.

What will you create?

XOXO,

Cait

Leave a Reply

