Baking · Family Life · Food · Recipes

Baking Up Some Love – Glazed Peanut Butter Bars

Good Morning and Happy Monday!

Today I wanted to share with you a recipe that is near and dear to my heart; Glazed Peanut Butter Bars.

These bars are everything that you want in a dessert; lightly sweet, slightly salty, chewy, and with just the right amount of pea-nutty goodness. The original recipe comes from the Trumansburg Central School District Food Service Department. It was given to me by my favorite lunch lady, Mrs. Burns, after I had graduated. Mrs. Burns was one of the sweetest lunch ladies; she always had a smile for every student and never rushed me as I was paying for my lunch or picking out what I wanted to eat. She always made me feel welcome at school; and we all know that sometimes the cafeteria can be a treacherous place, especially in Middle School where I met Mrs.Burns.

So our school served these peanut butter bars in every building (elementary, middle, and high school), and I loved them so much that I would buy lunch on the day there were served just to get one even if I wasn’t a fan of the meal that was being offered that day! They were that good. This was well before all the healthy lunch initiatives started, and there were actually desserts offered to finish your meal not fruit. It was also before all of the nut free policies were enacted. I feel like that makes me sound so old but its just the truth y’all!

Anyway, after I graduated and started college I would still talk about these peanut butter bars at home and how much I missed them. One day my mom, who works for the school district, mentioned how much I missed the school lunches especially the glazed peanut butter bars to Mrs. Burns. A few days latter, when my mom checked her staff mailbox, there was a note from Mrs.Burns and the cafeteria’s recipe for Glazed Peanut Butter Bars! I was so excited when my mom came home and handed it to me.

Since receiving the original recipe I have altered it so that I can easily make it at home. The original copy had all of the measurements in pounds and ounces of ingredients and was formatted to make extra large sheet trays. Perfect if you’re making them to feed a crowd and have a food scale and industrial kitchen. Not so good if you only have regular sized kitchen equipment and no food scale!

So here is my scaled down version!

Ingredients –

Peanut Butter Bars:

Flour – 1 1/2 cups

Baking Powder – 1 tbsp

Butter – 8 tbsp

Peanut Butter – 1 3/4 cup

Brown Sugar – 1/2 cup

Salt – 1 tsp

Eggs- 6

Vanilla – 1 tbsp

Granulated sugar – 2 cups

Glaze:

Powered Sugar- 1 3/4 cup

Vanilla- 1/2 tsp

Salt- 1/8 tsp

Butter- 4 tbsp

Shortening- 1/2 tbsp

Milk- 1/4 cup plus 2 tbsp

Peanut Butter- 1/4 cup

Directions-

Peanut Butter Bars:

  1. Sift flour and baking powder together in one mixing bowl.
  2. In a separate mixing bowl combine the butter, sugars, salt, eggs, and vanilla. Mix on low speed until combined.
  3. Add in the dry ingredients and mix only until well blended.
  4. Spread mixture in to a greased baking sheet to a depth of 1/2”. *At this point you may cover the sheet with wax paper and store in cooler overnight.
  5. Bake for 40-45 minutes in a 350 degree pre-heated oven. Please keep an eye on them as they bake as baking times will vary with your oven!
  6. Frost with glaze while still warm and let glaze harden before serving.

Glaze:

  1. Mix butter, peanut butter, and shortening until combined.
  2. Add vanilla, salt, and part of powdered sugar. Cream together.
  3. Add the rest of the powdered sugar a little at a time with milk.
  4. Stir until combined and pour over warm peanut butter bars.

*May be stored in fridge or out on the countertop.

*Makes one 13×9 sized pan; servings will vary based on how you cut and serve the bars.

Hope you love these as much as I do!

XOXO,

Cait

Leave a Reply

