Antiques · Finger Lakes · Found Flea Market · Shop Local · Shopping · Vintage

Friday Favorites – The Found Flea Market

It’s finally Friday AND it’s also a holiday weekend! I hope y’all have lots of fun activities and family time planned for the upcoming long weekend; I know I do!

For today’s Friday Favorites post I wanted to share with you information about one of my favorite local events; the Found Flea Market! The Found Flea Market takes places in Ithaca, NY on the third Sunday of every month from May to October. Sixty seven dealers set up tents and tables in the parking lot of the Found in Ithaca antiques store and offer some truly great deals. The store is also open that day for extended hours and has an additional forty nine dealers inside. For more information check out their website or their Facebook page

I went to my first Found Flea last year and instantly fell in love. I’ve been eagerly awaiting the start of this years’ flea markets as I had so much fun shopping, talking with vendors, and picking up some amazing pieces at great deals last year. This year’s first market of the season was no different and did not disappoint. At one point in my trip I had to stop in to the front counter at the store to drop off my finds because my arms were so full that I couldn’t carry them and shop for more! Each vendor offers something unique and they’re always happy to talk to you about the item and divulge any information they may have on it.

This time around I walked away with a large red & white chip tin, a small round “Fluffo” shortening tin, and a metal Campbell’s soup recipe box with the original promotional recipes all for my collection of tins. I also snapped up an absolutely gorgeous moose paint-by-number to add to that collection, and the best part? It was only $5! That deserves all the heart eye emojis and praise hands. I also found a sweet vintage 24 piece stainless steel flatware set with red handles, an old mason jar full of empty wooden thread spools, a red metal toy tractor, and an oversized copper cookie cutter.

My only regrets and the things I didn’t buy. Isn’t that always the case; lamenting the antiques you left behind or that someone else scooped up first?! The vendor I bought the cookie cutter from had two; a gingerbread man and an apple. Now that I’m home and head over heels with this cookie cutter I wish I had purchased both as I’m sure I’ll never see another one again. I also wish I had scooped up a red metal childrens wheelbarrow. Not sure quite what I’d do with it or where we’d store it in our apartment but it was darling and my favorite color. WAH! Oh well…I just guess I’ll have to go back next month!!

Let me know if you have any other favorite local (Upstate NY) flea markets or antiques stores for me to stop by!

XOXO,

Cait

*All opinions presented on the blog are my own. This post is in no way sponosored or endorsed by The Found Flea Market or Found in Ithaca. I just love their store and event and think y’all would too!*

One thought on “Friday Favorites – The Found Flea Market

Leave a Reply

