Cooking · DIY · DIY Projects · Finger Lakes · Food · Tutorials

We Be Jammin’

Happy Monday!

I hope all you lovely readers had a fantastic weekend. Mine was crazy busy as we had so many activities going on, but so much fun! I’m already looking forward to this next weekend as it’s my sister’s birthday (if you see her tell her Happy Birthday!), Father’s Day, the four-year anniversary of the day I met my husband, and the second Found Flea Market of the year!

Today I wanted to share a brief strawberry freezer jam tutorial with you as it is my favorite way to preserve all those lovely strawberries we have ripening in Upstate NY right now. I usually pick my own berries over at Silver Queen Farm which is a terrific family run farm in Trumansburg, NY. They offer so much more than strawberries, but they also have the best U-Pick strawberry fields around in my opinion.

When I make freezer jam I make a double batch which will fill one box of jelly sized mason jars (8 oz/half pint).

So to make freezer jam you’ll need:

  • 1 bucket of strawberries (4-5 cups when crushed)
  • 1 bag granulated white sugar (8 to 9 cups)
  • 4 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 packets of Certo liquid pectin

Directions:

  1. Pick or purchase strawberries.
IMG_4790
2) Wash and dry all of your jars, lids, and jar rings.  Because we are making freezer jam and not cooked jam you don’t need to sterilize your jars unless you want to. Personally I don’t because it heats up my small kitchen so much.
IMG_4792
3) Rinse your strawberries.
IMG_4793
4) Hull (cut the tops off) your strawberries.
IMG_4797
5) Mash your strawberries. I use my potato masher and my large Mason Cash strawberry mixing bowl.
IMG_4798
*Once strawberries are mashed they should look similar to this; a mix of strawberry juice and crushed berries.
IMG_4799
6) Scoop 4 cups of the crushed strawberries in to a bowl and add 8 cups of sugar. Mix until sugar is incorporated and let sit for 10 minutes stirring occasionally.
IMG_4802
7) In a separate bowl mix 2 packets of Certo liquid pectin with 4 tbsp of lemon juice.
IMG_4801
8) Add lemon juice/certo mixture to the strawberry/sugar mixture and stir for 3 minutes.
IMG_4806
9) Scoop prepared jam into canning jars. I find using a measuring scoop and a canning funnel make the job fairly easy.

10) Wipe off any drips from the jars, place lids on top, and screw on the jar rings. Let sit on countertop for 24 hours then place in freezer for storage. Jam will keep in the freezer for 12 months or the fridge for 3 months. When you’re ready to use just remove a jar from the freezer and let it defrost in the fridge.

*This jam is great on the usual suspects; PB&J and toast, but it’s also great over some ice cream or as a topping for cheesecake.

**I use certo liquid pectin because it is reliable and easy to use when compared to the powdered pectin. A dear sister from church, Sister Smith, taught me that!

***This post is in no way sponsored or endorsed by Certro, Real Lemon lemon juice, Tops Grocery Stores, or Silver Queen Farms.***

XOXO,

Cait

Leave a Reply

