Family Life · Friday Favorites · Holidays

My Father, My Hero

Happy Friday!

Another week has come and gone, and we are gearing up for a busy weekend over here. So today, in honor of Father’s Day I wanted to take a couple of moments to celebrate and honor one of my favorite people; my father!

Dad,

I’ve heard you mention countless times how your father was your hero, how you’ve strived to live up to the example that he set for you. I’m here to tell you that you’ve done that and more. Dad, you’re MY hero.

From before I can remember you’ve been there by my side cheering me on, encouraging me, inspiring me, and building me up when the world has knocked me down. Your tenacity and grit have served as an extraordinary example to me of what one can accomplish if one believes in oneself and what they’re doing. Despite the challenges that you’ve faced, the long hours, the lengthy commutes, the roadblocks and red tape; you never gave up. You may have become discouraged, for but a mere moment, but then you got back in the ring and found a way to fix the problem or a way to circumnavigate it. You’ve proven to me that you can change your life and go after your dreams at any age, any life stage; a living example of “If you can dream it, you can do it”.

I’m sure that raising daughters is no easy task and certainly not for the faint of heart, but you’ve raised three amazing women with the skill that few men possess.  You’ve managed to cultivate the perfect balance between tenderness and strength that allows you to be firm when needed,  and comforting when the occasion calls for it. Because of you I’m a capable woman who is as much at home assembling furniture, producing technical drawings, and using tools to complete DIY projects as I am sewing a quilt, baking cookies, or caring for an infant. The magnitude of that gift is not lost on me. I think that finding a way to parent your daughters in a way that strikes that balance has to be one of the hardest tasks of fatherhood, one that many fall short of, but you’ve excelled at it; times three.

So with that, thank you Dad. Thank you for always being there for me. Thank you for your innumerable examples strength, steadfastness, love, and grace. Thank you for being an amazing father and my hero.

XOXO,

Cait

 

 

Leave a Reply

