Antiques · Collections · Friday Favorites · Uncategorized

The Collecting Life – Part 2

Happy Friday!

This week I wanted to briefly focus on another one of my collections: vintage food tins. They’re one of my favorite things to collect because they are typically easy to find and priced inexpensively. The only tin I’ve found, albeit online, that I’ve been drooling over but can’t afford is the elusive, original campfire marshmallow tin. I do have a very convincing 1980’s reproduction that I found on Etsy for $12 so that’ll have to do for now!

I just love the great graphics and advertising slogans often found on these containers. A favorite of mine has to be how Blue Star potato chips were touted as being a wonderful “energy source” great for your man’s factory lunch! Occasionally, the tins will even come with an extra surprise! I’ve opened a few of my tins to clean them up once I’ve gotten home only to find that the orignal product is still in the tin. Such was the case with my Ghirardelli hot chocolate canister!

So readers, what are you collecting these days?! Let me know in the comments!

XOXO,

Cait

2 thoughts on “The Collecting Life – Part 2

    1. Pets are a wonderful, comforting collection! I’d love to add another pup to our family but our apartment is a little small for that so I’m just enjoying all the cuddles from our GSD Mia. My husband wants ferrets but I’m not very familiar with them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

