DIY · DIY Projects · Projects · Tutorials · Vintage

Barn Shelf (Mini) Makeover

Good afternoon y’all!

I just wanted to drop by and share a quick DIY project update!! If you follow me on instagram you may remember that a while ago I found this great wooden barn shelf to hold my vintage “smalls” through a lovely vintage seller Stephanie Harkins over at In With The Old .

Since receiving that adorable shelf in the mail the hubby and I have given it a mini makeover by painting in with a fresh coat of my favorite color; barn red!

Here’s how we did it:

FullSizeRender-2
1) Sand using 60 grit (coarse) sandpaper.
FullSizeRender-3
2) Sand using 100 grit (medium) sandpaper.
IMG_4841
3) Finish sanding using 180 grit (fine) sandpaper.
IMG_4842
4) Remove all the dust from sanding using a rag or tack cloth.
IMG_4845
5) Paint item in whatever color floats your boat using thin coats, and letting it dry completely between coats. We used a small foam brush and did around 5 coats.

*I decided not to prime the shelf before painting because we didn’t have primer on hand and I was itching to get started. However, I highly recommend that if you’re painting over a dark stain like we were that you use at least one coat of primer first. This is one of those cases of “do as I say, not as I do”!*

XOXO,

Cait

Leave a Reply

